all women should do this: HALO breast cancer screening

May 31, 2008


When I went for my yearly checkup at the OBGYN, my practice was offering a new early breast cancer screening. The test is called HALO. From what i have gathered thus far, 95% of breast cancer begins in the milk ducts. This test uses a breast pump that attempts to extract liquid from the breast duct and analyze for breast disease. It can detect abnormalities in cells 7 years before they have a chance to advance into a lesion that can be detected by mammogram, mri, sonogram or self exam.
If you have family history of breast cancer (as i do), your chances of developing breast cancer are doubled or tripled. If both abnormal cells are found in your breast fluid and you have a family history your risk increased 11 times.

Insurance does not yet cover this procedure. It is supposed to be really quick and painless, takes about 5 minutes. Women between the ages of 25-55 should have it done. I think it’s a no brainer, and every woman (age appropriate) should do it. My doctor is charging me $150, a small price to pay for information…I having it done next week, I will share the experience.

here is a video and more info:
HALO video and info

3 Responses to “all women should do this: HALO breast cancer screening”

  1. Alicia said

    Hi! I had the HALO procedure done a couple of months ago. I wouldn’t say it was painless, but I think my discomfort may have been due to PMS. My dr. only charged $75. I definitely think it’s worth the slight discomfort (hey, we women can take just about anything, can’t we?) and I was happy to have a negative result — which is always positive!

  2. mia said

    yikes! hope it’s not too painful!
    how good for you that all is well!

Leave a Reply

